Print Page | Sign In | Register
News & Press: News

2018 Spring Policy Forum & Advocacy Day--Another Great Win!

Tuesday, April 17, 2018  
Share |

CBHA's 2018 Spring Policy Forum and Advocacy Day on April 9-10 at the Embassy Suites Sacramento was a great success!

We were honored to have Mayor Darrell Steinberg provide opening remarks for our Spring Policy Forum. Senator Scott Wiener greeted our members and shared his vision for behavioral health legislation and Assemblymember Joaquin Arambula provided a keynote speech on the importance of treatment and expanding the behavioral health workforce after he was presented with the inaugural CBHA Legislator of the Year Award.

Members enjoyed presentations from CBHA's Le Ondra Clark Harvey, Ph.D., Director of Policy and Legislative Affairs on the challenges facing behavioral healthcare providers in California in 2018 where members gained an understanding of the challenges facing behavioral healthcare providers and how change can happen through advocacy at the local and state level.

Charles (Chuck) Ingoglia, MSW, Senior Vice President of Public Policy and Practice Improvement, National Council for Behavioral Health, updated members on federal behavior health policy, issues and priorities that impacted providers.

During lunch, the Annual Membership Meeting and Board Elections was held and Christine Stoner-Mertz was elected as the new Board President with Erin O'Brien as the Immediate Past President. Vitka Eisen is the new President Elect and Executive Vice President while Leon Hoover remains the Vice President of Policy.

The Membership Luncheon was sponsored by our new business associate, Nonstop Wellness.

Rusty Selix presented the Rusty Selix Award of Merit posthumously to Leslie Preston, who passed away this year.   The award was just created this year by the CBHA Board of Directors.  Leslie dedicated her life to serving others and was instrumental in many efforts on behalf of CBHA, including paperwork reduction where she was the lead. Jane Garcia, CEO of La Clinica de la Raza, accepted the award on her behalf.

 Members learned about key goals and initiatives being worked on by DHCS and the California Hospital Association, and how their efforts will help shape the future of behavior healthcare at the state and local levels; and partnership to work effectively in an integrated landscape. Specifically, Jennifer Kent, MPA, Director of the Department of Health Care Services gave an overview of the current state initiatives for California’s Mental Health and Substance Use Delivery Systems. Sheree Lowe, Vice President for Behavioral Health, California Hospital Association discussed hospital strategies on their crisis level of care, the California landscape of behavioral health treatment, and the rationale for increasing that treatment in emergency departments.

The raffle drawings were bigger this year!
Darrell Evora was the lucky winner of a new Apple iPad thanks to Arthur J. Gallagher!
Wendy Wang won Valant's Amazon Dot AND one of the $50 cash prizes courtesy of CBHA
Irma Rangel won a Bluetooth speaker courtesy of Mutual of America
Kathy McCarthy and Elisa Koff-Ginsborg each won one of the $50 cash prize courtesy of CBHA

Mulvaney's B&L did a great job setting up our Membership Dinner and everyone left with positive feedback to end the night.
 Check out all the photos we have on our Facebook page and Twitter!

 California Council of Community Behavioral Health Agencies © 2016
455 Capitol Mall Suite 315, Sacramento, CA 95814 | 916.557.1166